Why a Teen can Buy an Assault Rifle More Easily Than a Handgun

Why a Teen can Buy an Assault Rifle More Easily Than a Handgun

The same type of rifle that was used in the Broward County school mass shooting in Florida was easier to buy for the teenage murderer than a regular handgun under the current law. Although federal law states gun buyers to be at least 21 years old to purchase a handgun, many states across the nation set the minimum age for purchasing rifles at only 18. This includes the semi-automatic version of the military’s M16 — the AR-15. Mass shootings in Parkland, FL; Newton, CT; Aurora, CO; and San Bernardino, CA all involved AR-15s.

 

Assault Weapons: Increasingly Popular in America

 Traditionally, gun laws treat handguns differently from shotguns, rifles, and other long guns. In 1968, when the Gun Control Act was passed, law makers raised the legal age to purchase a handgun to 21 years old. Under the act, people at least 18 years old could still purchase rifles, which are often used for hunting. At the time the act passed, AR-15s were not popular. Also, they were not widely available to the American public. In the 1980’s and 1990’s, assault weapons became more popular, making the 1968 Act outdated. Manufacturers and gun owners flocked to these type pf guns, the minimum age remained at 18. In 1994, Congress passed a federal assault weapons ban which made a large variety of guns illegal for civilians.

Georgia Gun Laws

While Georgia is an open carry state, it is not a traditional one. Under state law, open carry is legal with a Georgia-issued firearms permit. Additionally, Georgia allows gun owners to open carry a firearm without a permit in a motor vehicle. That being said, Georgia does not require a permit to purchase a firearm, does not require registration of firearms, nor does it require owners to become licensed. A permit to carry is only required under state law for firearms that are legally categorized as handguns.  Georgia enacted this law in 2006. This means that if you feel that your life is threatened, the law allows you to use deadly force to defend yourself. You must be at least 18 years of age to possess a handgun in Georgia.

 

If you or someone you know has any questions about federal or state gun laws, contact a knowledgeable attorney today.

What Clients Say

I would like to express my appreciation for your assistance in professionally handling my client’s needs for international service of process through the foreign country’s Central Authority, pursuant to the Hague Convention Treaty on the Service Abroad of Judicial and Extrajudicial Documents. I’d also like to express my admiration for your great knowledge of the law in the area of international service of process. From the beginning of the process well over six months ago, through today when the Final…

Isabel Betancourt

I have had the opportunity to deal with Ancillary Legal Corporation for several years now and have been very happy with the service that I received from them. Whenever I need legal papers served, they are my go to company. All of their process servers are professionals in their jobs and Peter and John have many years in the legal support field… Give them a try and you won’t be sorry that you did.

Isabel Betancourt

Add testimonial description here. Edit and place your own text.

Jane Doe